Franchise Registration

 

The main rules for franchising are federal. The Federal Trade Comission developed a rule requiring the use of the Franchise Disclosure Document or FDD when selling franchise businesses. In what I call the Franchise Registration States,  the FDD must be provided to the state administrative agency so it can be reviewed for compliance with the FTC rule in addition to that states franchising rules. Some other states regulate the sale of business opportunities, and require that franchisors file a form to be exempted from those rules. I call these states the Fracnhsise Filing States and because the FDD is not reviewed, these registrations are approved much faster and the filing fees are much lower. 

 Franchise Registration States

 

These states require an initial filing of the FDD and supporting documents. Most of these states will review the contents of the FDD and issue a comment letter with corrections and clarifications. The Kinsey Law Office will prepare your initial filing and respond to the comment letters that are issued for the flat fee of $1,150 per state. If you are already registered, The Kinsey Law Office will update your your documents for the flat fee of $600 and file your renewal for the flat fee of $600 per state. Each state's filing fees are listed below. 

California

Registration Filing Fee: $675                   

The initial registration takes about 3 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $450

California requires renewal of the registration annually in the first quarter of the company's fiscal year. 

Illinois

Registration Filing Fee: $500

The initial registration takes about 3 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $100

Illinois requires renewal of the registration in the first quarter of the company's fiscal year. 

Maryland

Registration Filing Fee: $500

The initial registration takes about 3 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $250

Maryland requires renewal of the registration in the first quarter of the company's fiscal year. 

New York

Registration Filing Fee: $750

The initial registration takes about 9 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $150

New York requires renewal of the registration in the first quarter of the company's fiscal year. 

North Dakota

Registration Filing Fee: $250

The initial registration takes about 1 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $100

North Dakota requires renewal of the registration in the first quarter of the company's fiscal year. 

South Dakota

Registration Filing Fee: $250

South Dakota is a notice filing rather than a review of the FDD meaning that the registration is effective upon filing. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $150

Renewal is required annually on or before the anniversary of the initial registration date.

Washington

Registration Filing Fee: $600

The initial registration takes about 3 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $100

Washington requires renewal of the registration in the first quarter of the company's fiscal year. 

Hawaii

Registration Filing Fee: $225 

Initial registration takes about 3 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $225 

Hawaii requires renewal of the registration annually in the first quarter of the company's fiscal year. 

Indiana

Registration Filing Fee: $500

Indiana is a notice filing rather than a review of the FDD meaning that the registration is effective upon filing. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $250

Renewal is required annually on or before the anniversary of the initial registration date.  

Minnesota

Registration Filing Fee: $400

The initial registration takes about 3 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $200

Minnesota requires renewal of the registration in the first quarter of the company's fiscal year. 

North Carolina

Registration Filing Fee: $250

North Carolina is a notice filing rather than a review of the FDD meaning that the registration is effective upon filing. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $250

Renewal is required annually on or before the anniversary of the initial registration date.  

Rhode Island

Registration Filing Fee: $600

The initial registration takes about 3 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $300

Rhode Island requires renewal of the registration in the first quarter of the company's fiscal year. 

Virginia

Registration Filing Fee: $500

The initial registration takes about 3 months and registration is required before you can offer your franchise for sale. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $200

Renewal is required annually on or before the anniversary of the initial registration date. 

Wisconsin

Registration Filing Fee: $400

Wisconsin is a notice filing rather than a review of the FDD meaning that the registration is effective upon filing. 

Renewal Filing Fee: $400

Renewal is required annually on or before the anniversary of the initial registration date.

 Franchise Filing States

 

These states require do not require submission of the FDD. But they do require the filing of a document before a franchisor is permitted to sell franchises within the state. The Kinsey Law Office will prepare the necessary documents for the flat fee of $300 per state. Each state's filing fees are listed below. 

Connecticut

Filing Fee: $0

Franchisors with a USPTO registered trademark are permitted to file and exclusion notice exempting them from Connecticut's franchise rule. Without the federally registered trademark, franchisors will have to register their FDD in a similar process to the states listed above. 

Kentucky

Filing Fee: $0

Kentucky regulates the sale of business opportunities but allows franchisors to file an exemption from that rule. The exemption notice must be filed annually on the anniversary of the initial filing date. 

Nebraska

Filing Fee: $100

Nebraska regulates the sale of business opportunities but allows franchisors to file an exemption from that rule. The exemption notice is only filed once, it does not have to be renewed. 

Texas

Filing Fee: $25

Texas regulates the sale of business opportunities but allows franchisors to file an exemption from that rule. The exemption notice is only filed once, it does not have to be renewed. 

Florida

Filing Fee: $100

Florida regulates the sale of business opportunities but allows franchisors to file an exemption from that rule. The exemption notice must be filed annually on the anniversary of the initial filing date. 

Michigan

Filing Fee: $250

Michigan has a franchise rule, but unlike the franchise registration states above it does not require submission of the FDD. Instead only a notice of intent is filed.  The notice of intent must be filed annually on the anniversary of the initial filing date. 

South Carolina

Filing Fee: $0

South Carolina regulates the sale of business opportunities but allows franchisors to file an exemption from that rule. The exemption notice must be filed annually on the anniversary of the initial filing date. 

Utah

Filing Fee: $100

Utah regulates the sale of business opportunities but allows franchisors to file an exemption from that rule. The exemption notice must be filed annually on the anniversary of the initial filing date.